Favorite Books as a Young Child

Hello, everyone! Whoever is reading this, let me start out by saying, how are you? (Manners guys, it’s called manners). Anywho, today, I wanted to start my blog with memories (mem(ə)rē/noun, plural noun: memories: something remembered from the past; a recollection.) When I was a very young child (pay attention to the “very” because I am still a young child) I used to read way more than I do now *cries*. I thought it would be fun to tell you about my favorite book and series, from when I was really young!! 

Dr. Seuss

First off, to start this, I decided to go with Dr. Seuss books. I know, I know, this isn’t exactly a “specific book” but, in my defense, how could I choose a “favorite” Dr. Suess book? I absolutely,  downright LOVED (LOVE) Dr. Suess books. They were my childhood! I read practically all (ôl: Used to refer to the whole quantity or extent of a particular group or thing.) of them, over and over again! At that age, when I wrote, they were inspired by his books! *Quickly goes and searches up Dr. Seuss Quotes* “You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.” (One fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish. Why Not?)

There was Once an Old Lady Who Swallowed a

Why did I like this book series so much? I honestly have no idea! I guess something about old people being able to eat random objects was very entertaining? Disregarding anything, I was still very addicted to these books. (But “There was once an old lady who swallowed a chick,” Kind of sounds cruel…., no hate though these books were amazing) I think that that’s enough for this book, let’s go deeper down memory lane!

Junie B. Jones

I just started laughing so much when I wrote this, I have no idea why. This book series was about a little kindergartener who navigates her life through the very tough, intense age of five. I think I might have actually read all of the books. There was another series of these books called “Junie B First Grader”, but I never actually read that. (It’s an Abomination, I tell you). However, there was some “mature content” in these series. *Gasp* (Keep in mind five-year-olds read this) Now look at this book title: Junie B. Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus. *Gasps again* Did you see it? It says stupid! As a young child, I was always shocked about all of that language, I was all like “hello, this is a children’s book?”(Imagine that in a bratty five-year-old voice) but I also felt like a rebel😈  (Bad Violet!)

Little Duckling

Ugh! I couldn’t remember the name so I had to search up some crazy thing to find the name and I hope this is the right one. YAY! I have had this book for as long as I can remember (which is honestly not a lot #badmemory). Now, this book was not just any plain book, okay! This was one of the super cool ones with all the fancy texture. It was just the most amazing thing ever! I just have way too many horrid memories of being papercut by that book…

The Inkheart Series

As a conclusion to this very short list, I wanted to put this series into it. I read this when I was in my young years, possibly seven or eight and I used to love it sooooooo much. The three books were Inkheart, Inkspell, and Inkdeath. Of course, in this book, I believe they actually did cuss, but I didn’t care. Our teacher read this to us in class but never finished it (still makes me sad) BUT, that never stopped me! (Determination)  I went and bought the book and read it myself. I used to carry it around with me everywhere I went (like a creep). My friend and I (who actually moved away a few year ago *teardrop*) used to constantly obsess about this book. We used to draw pictures and write our own versions and just talk about it, a lot. Anyways, this was just a book I loved so much as a young child. I’m actually planning on rereading the series for nostalgia. *Sigh* Memory Lane, what a nice place.

There are so many more books that I wouldn’t even be able to list them. However, those were a few I could remember and loved a little kid.

Also, I would like to give a shout out to the amazing May Everly who helped me a lot with my blog! (Let’s acknowledge that awesome header) Her blog is amazing (you guys probably already know her but if not, check it out!)

Also my other amazing friends’ amazing blogs:

Ivy               Amelie               Lia             Cas

By the ways, if you guys have any book suggestions for me to read currently, please leave them in the comments below! I’m always on the hunt for something interesting to read.

2017-03-23

 

 

 

33 thoughts on “Favorite Books as a Young Child

  1. EYYYYY EYYYYY EYYYYY EYYYY I HAVE DECIDED THAT BECAUSE YOU ARE MY FAVORITE PERSON EVER I AM GOING TO TYPE ALL OF MY COMMENTS IN ALL CAPS. I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THIS POST IS AMAZING, LIKE YOU AND ARE AMAZING AND I WOULD DIE FOR YOU MY CHILD 😥 ALSO YOU SHOULD READ I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN BECAUSE I WOULD DIE FOR THAT BOOK, MUCH LIKE I WOULD DIE FOR YOU!!!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. VIOLET I AM SO DISAPPOINTED IN YOU FOR NOT HAVING HARRY OR PERCY ON THAT LIST MY HEART IS ACTUALLY HURTING I HAD FAITH IN YOU (lol no i didn’t i accepted that you were a disgusting chocolate hater and that you hadn’t read Harry Potter when i befriended you) (thank the world that our friend sahm and i have successfully corrupted you) (i am also quite proud of my lack of punctuation which i s slowly becoming more apparent) (yay) (okay thanks for mentioning meee) (and bye)

    Liked by 2 people

      1. HAHA I KNOW IM SO REBELLIOUS LOOK AT ME NOT EVEN PUTTING AN APOSTROPHE IN ‘I’M’. AND NOW I’M FEELING IMMENSELY GUILTY. OKAY. STOPPING NOW. I liked your post good job. AGH SHALL THE GRAMMAR PROBLEMS NEVER ENDDD??? And Violet. You’ll always be a little child.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Hello, Violet! I’m Gayatri.
    I began my blog recently too. I call myself a BB (beginner blogger, ya know).
    I’m a proud Indian too 😀 I love your blog, and I look forward to more posts.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. VIOLEEEEEEEEEET!!! Dr. Seuss is AMAZING, and I have like the whole Junie B. Jones series (until they started adding more lol). I also read a lot Cam Jansen — have you heard of those books? Great post, dearie! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Isn’t Dr. Seuss amazing!?!?! Ah, he’s just like … a genius. He’s a genius. AND I DON’T CARE WHO KNOWS IT.

    Mmkay, that was weird …

    But you’d better get used to weird comments.

    Mmkay, you’d better not, because I’m only weird some days. Ask May. I think I’ve been normal with her sometimes. Right? May? Right? She’s not answering … must mean she doesn’t think so but doesn’t want to hurt my feelings … or maybe I haven’t posted the comment yet …

    Also, we used to recite this poem that goes “I know an old lady who swallowed a fly, I don’t know why she swallowed the fly, perhaps she’ll die” and then she swallows a lot of other things and you keep on adding stuff on (kinda like The Twelve Days of Christmas) and then she dies after she swallows a horse. *nods*

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Really late to see this… I am ashamed…. Anyways, Yay!!! Violet, I am glad to know that I’m not the only one who loves the There was Once an Old Lady Who Swallowed a series!! I am not ashamed to admit that I pick them up to read whenever I find them around. And Dr. Seuss is the best, that’s why there’s National Read Across America Day (which is practically Dr.Seuss day) ; )

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I love There Was An Old Lady. I also had a song version of it I would sing along too. I read it to the kids at the daycare I work at and they love it too. It’s such a weird story though if you really think about it XD

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me, and discover my awkwardness! :)

